November 22, 1963 -- 58 years since JFK Assassination in Dallas

I didn’t want to let the date go by without the annual, “where were you?” thread, addressed to those who were alive on that date (even if not especially sentient).

I was a sophomore in geometry class at Madonna HS in Niagara Falls, NY. It was a shocking event that stopped the world in its tracks.

I was in Houston at the time and I shit my pants. Because I was two years old and that was what I was into at the time.

Fourth grader, totally crushed because the President was elected because he was the best man in the country, and I couldn’t understand why someone would kill the best man in the country. I remember vividly sitting in class, hearing the principal announce what happened over the intercom.

I was in first grade and I remember they canceled school for the rest of the day. I didn’t know what a president was, or who was this “Kenny” who got killed. I also remember the news being on every channel all day long ago weekend. I did learn who President Kennedy was over the next few days because all of the adults were talking about him, and Jackie and their two kids.

First Grade. It was announced on the loudspeaker. The teacher and I started crying. Most of the rest of the kids just looked confused.

Fifth grade, just about to break for lunch. Another nun came into the room and whispered something to our teacher, who turned on a radio and we heard the news. Soon after, the entire school trudged off to the church next door for a prayer service, and then dismissed for the day (and also for Monday so we could watch the funeral).

Third grade/ My teacher (Mr. Drake) got called out of the room. When he came back, we all went outside with the rest of the school to say the Pledge around the flag pole. It wasn’t until I got home that Mom explained to me what had happened.