Obesity: Blame it on your 1950s mom.

Eh?

From the LAT

Interested to what Dopers have to say. Not sold on the breast-feeding thing. (Disclosure: I sure didn’t.) I can see how restricting food in the womb could lead to bigger problems, but I’m no scientist. I’m thinking back to my grandmother here. (My mom was born in 59.) We have some thicker around the middle, some skinny, and one chunky (but not ‘fat fat’). My mom smoked during pregnancy and was borderline bulimic during some parts of my life. She was kind of chubby the first few years of mine, though.

I still think that weight is a battle with our food options. I’d be interested in what other Dopers think.

From the cite:

“Inadequate nutrition in some of these women could easily have programmed their babies to catch up on growth during infancy — and studies suggest such growth spurts increase the risk of later obesity.”
“Over-nourished kids grew up to be over-nourished women, producing large babies. Large babies, just like too-small babies, are at heightened risk of obesity”

Under-nourish=fat
Over-nourish=fat

Seems like she’s got all the bases covered there. Narrowing the target down to a pinhole of undefined perfect nourishment makes it hard to attack her argument. I’m more likely to place the blame on helicopter parents who never let the children out of their sight, thus limiting the amount of exercise those kids would normally get. I used to ride my bike thirty to forty miles a day but it’s unlikely I’d be allowed farther than the corner these days.

It could play a part, sure.

But, I think that the clearly predominant causes are a massive increase in how much we eat, and a massive increase in how much of the day we spend sitting down.

But, it’s nice to know I can just blame it on having a parent who grew up in the 60s, and eat some more potato chips out of the bag as I sit here at the computer.