Obscure medical Q: Polycythemia

My Dad was diagnosed with a rare disease called Polycythemia. Basically, it meant his body produced far too many red blood cells and was too thick, resulting in heart attacks and stokes. Expert docs told Mom that it’s almost entirely a male disease, so none of his daughters are at risk. Incidentally, Dad had a massive heart attack at 39, a stroke at 53, and a fatal heart attack at 62. The docs said they suspected the same disease caused the relatively early deaths (50-ish) of his father and grandfather, too.

What I’d like to know is this: is my son (his grandson) at risk for this disease? All of the research I’ve found is either inconclusive or way over my head with medical terminology. Might I have passed on a gender-specific, recessive trait to my kid? And is there any way to find out before he reaches adulthood and has medical problems?

I am not a doctor and I have never played one on TV, Although it has always been my life long dream to be a doctor. The closest I every got was wearing a set of scrubs while watching my wife’s C-section, ok I am rambling now.

To answer the OP.

My Grandmther was diagnosed with Polycythemia in her early fifties or sixties I believe.

She saw the doctor once a month or so, took a pill everyday, and had some blood (quite a bit) drained out every now and then.

She died of natural causes at the ripe old age of 94.

No one else (knocks on wood) in the family has ever been diagnosed with this disease, so I would not worry about him getting it.

Polycythemia not necessarily a disease. There are several reasons to have a high redcell count. People who live at high altitudes have relative polycythemia. They need the extra red blood cells to carry enough oxygen
Polycythemia Vera is a disease that is seen in males more often. The cause is unclear.

The Merck Manual is a good source for this sort of thing.

In this case, it basically says the cause is unknown, but there is no strong evidence of heredity.