Office Temp - Question about Proper Male Attire

I worked as an office temp (word processing, temp secretary, light phones) for a few years about 20 years ago.

I need some additional income, and plan to test the waters in the temp market again.

My question: What is considered proper attire for a guy seeking work as an office temp these days?

Specifically, should I wear a tie?

Thanks…

I would wear a tie for the first day at least, after that you can dress down if needed.

Business casual is the style these days. No one wears a tie. You you look like a keener jerk if you wear a tie.

NO ONE WEARS A TIE.

Yup. Tie, dress shirt, dress pants/khakis, and nice, clean shoes. After the first day, you’ll see how everyone else is dressing and you can dress accordingly - if they’re anything like office workers around here, they’ll probably be in dress shirts or polos and slacks. As a lady temp, my uniform is nice shirt, dress pants, and nice black leather shoes.

This is very typical office dress in my city.

No ties? I haven’t worked downtown in a long time - ties aren’t worn too often in offices outside of the core, but they were worn downtown last time I worked there. I’d still say wear a tie on the first day - you might be in an office that’s a holdout on the tie front. :slight_smile:

1995 called. He wants his tie back.

Yeah no one in our mail room wears a tie.

About half the guys I worked with wore a tie every day.

There’s only one person in my office who wears a tie and that’s the president of the company and only if it’s Super Official Business.

I can’t even imagine if I showed up in a tie.

It’s been a few decades since I temped, but wear a tie and you can always take it off.

It’s better to be dressed a little too formally than a little too casually. Wear the tie.

This. Wear the tie until you find out what’s expected. Ties can be untied.

Half they guys in my office wear ties, and we are an NGO.