Ok, I have to learn portrait photography - kinda fast

So, I am a post grad student of product design. We are now working on our final project. I was a bit drunk when I had the idea for it. And I sent that said idea to my professor, who loved it. So now I am sober (still love the Idea), but I realized that I might have bitten off more than I can chew.

The project will be the development of a wearable piece of art (not really a piece of clothing - it is more conceptual than that). If it doesn’t sound pretentious enough, I will also discuss gender. Ok. The final project is delivered on a presentation in front of quite a lot of people and a book - That is usually pretty boring, with blank pages and so on. So I am making this book a bit more presentable, with large photos, good quality paper and stuff like that. It will be a design book (or maybe an art book, I don’t know).

For the Gender part I really wanted to illustrate the many variations of gender between male and female (Queergender, Demiboy, etc etc etc etc). And I would like to do that with portraits. So… HERE COMES THE QUESTION:

I have access to a very nice photography studio in my university. It is equipped with powerful lighting, it has different backdrops and it even has a suspended “catwalk” that overlooks the whole studio.

Is there a guide for human portraits (are there non-human portraits, by the way?) that I can use to get interesting and beautiful results? I don’t want “passport” photos, obviously. I know how to operate an SLR camera and I am proficient on photoshop.

Can anyone help me with that? I am really excited about this project, and I will be very glad to share the results with you guys.

…if you have access to a DSLR, a studio and lights and modifiers, then you have plenty of options.