On planning the menu for Dad's birthday dinner

I’m trying to put together some cool stuff for Dad’s birthday dinner, and I thought I’d tap the collective wisdom of Cafe Society for inspiration. Dad’s turning 73 this year, and as I’ve posted elsewhere, he isn’t a “healthy 73.” I’d like to make something he really enjoys. In the past when I’ve asked him what he wants, he just tells me he’ll enjoy anything I make.

I obviously can’t really explain what he’d like and not online, but if people throw suggestions out there, I might be able to figure out a good plan. I’m a good cook, quite capable of following directions to try something new. I have my oven, microwave, slow cooker, and grill available. I’m not above buying a new tool if it’s the right thing to do.

The family expects me to do something a bit showy. Their friends at their condo building bug them when they come over to find out what I made. I care about presentation, even if I’m still learning some of the tricks. Little things like being able to doodle on the plate with a thick sauce helps.

Ok…specifics on the food choices. Dad is diabetic. I’m pre-diabetic. My Mom says her blood sugar is a little high, and doesn’t get into many other details. My sister has her own specific restrictions such as not eating ground meat…I’m not sure I can get into all of those, but I’ll screen them out if suggestions warrant them.

Dad is a comfort food type of person. He’d be happy with something meat and potatoes-ish. But I don’t want to just serve a steak. And I’m not serving white potatoes. Maybe…maybe…sweet potatoes.
Things I’ve made in the past for him and the family that went over well:
Mojo marinated pork chops
Pulled pork
Individual beef Wellingtons
Shish kabobs
Lamb stew
Shrimp with stewed tomato dish served over couscous
Side dishes - I tend to do just one or two veggies. There will only be four of us, so we don’t need a ton of food.