On The Sunny Side Of The Street

As mentioned previously, I’m learning to play electric guitar. My instructor said I’m too advanced for the beginning class, and as it turns out I’m the only one who showed up; so I’m getting private lessons at the group rate.

The instructor is using On The Sunny Side Of The Street because it’s a well-known song (not to me – I only know the one by The Pogues) and because it uses barre chords he wants to teach. So here’s the thing: I can play chords up near the head, but I have very little experience with barre chords. In addition, we’re using an unfamiliar song. So one thing I should do is listen to the song. But which version?

What is ‘the definitive’ version of On The Sunny Side Of The Street?

There really isn’t one. The best known is probably the 1945 Tommy Dorsey version, but the song itself is a standard. It’s been covered by artists from Duke Ellington to Ella Fitzgerald to Judy Garland to Cyndi Lauper (whose version I personally really like) to Gene Kelly! No one has really made it a signature song, like Frank Sinatra with “My Way” or Judy Garland with “Over The Rainbow”.

I want to learn the song, so I’d like a version without too many ‘flourishes’. (Example: If you wanted to learn The Star-Spangled Banner a version such as used at the Superbowl would not be preferred.) A ‘standard’ version without too much ‘interpretation’ would be good.

Hey, Johnny, you’re one of my favorite posters so please don’t take this in a snitty “Google is Your Friend” kind of way.

It took me a very long time to get it into my head that I could use YouTube as a music source. Since YouTube is a video site, I only would think of it if I specifically wanted to find a T.V. clip, or a Comedy “Viral Video”, or looking for a music video.