Opinions from Graduate Assistants Wanted

I’m a grad assistant. This means I am assigned to one department (not my major department, although I’m being reassigned there this fall), where I do what I’m told. I do not teach classes, per se. The most I can do is to show a video or proctor an exam; I can’t lecture or otherwise provide any sort of instruction. (If I were in my major department, the rules would be a good bit looser because I’ve taken the courses and have the necessary skill set to at least answer questions.)

After some unpleasant experiences, I thought a handbook for GAs would be a good idea; I think it’d be great to have a resource to address situations that are unique to GAs. I proposed this to my advisor, who is the department representative to the faculty graduate-school council. My suggestion has made its way to the graduate dean, who is interested and wants to talk to me about it.

So far, I’ve got the following ideas for content:

[ul]
[li]Grievance procedures, including those for harassment[/li][li]Payroll procedures[/li][li]Financial aid implications, such as the possibility of reduced or eliminated aid because the assistantship covers tuition[/li][li]General duties of GAs (specific duties are defined when the appointment is made)[/li][/ul]

I’m putting the question to you, my fellow current and former GAs. Is there anything else you can think of that should be covered in a university-wide handbook?

Robin

What are the perqs at your school for GAs?

*Grad students received special health insurance and got healthcare & meds provided at the school clinic when I was at NC State. The details could be a little confusing, though.

*Do GAs get a special deal at the school gym? Does the special deal extend to family members?

*Do GAs qualify for any student meal plans?

*Do GAs get better treatment at the library? (Longer loans, freebies?)

*Do GAs get any deals on parking?