Opinions on Webhosting options: Linux vs Windows platforms

I am looking to put up my first couple of business websites for which I will be registering the domain name and have designed the pages.

I am looking at places where I can host my website and I come up with what looks like the top contender but I need to decide between Linux or Windows Server 2003 as the hosting platform.

What are the pros and cons of each? As this is my first time publishing a website, which is the easiest and which can be used with basic or limited knowledge?

I am relying on you all to guide my ways.

I suspect that as an end user who won’t administer your web server you really won’t care.

With a few exceptions, all web content (html, php, jsp, etc.) can be managed and accessed equally from both platforms. The only exception I can think of is ASP, but I’ve never used that; perhaps it can be done on Linux as well.

Personally, I use Linux, but that’s because I perfer to manage Linux boxes. If you’re not managing the boxes I don’t think it really matters.

Linux is usually cheaper (or you get more stuff for the same price), and you only need windows if you want to do windows-only stuff. For a basic website I’d go for linux.

I wouldn’t trust Windows to host anything important I put up, especially given how many IIS attacks are out there.

UNIX is my first preference, but Linux is a good alternative.

I personally run 4 Windows 2003 web hosting servers, but all of our work uses ASP and ASP.NET. We use alot of SQL too.

For a novice, a personal site, or someone who does PHP, I would recommend a Unix or Linux server pretty much because of the price. You can do PHP on a Windows server, though (we have it on ours).

Remember, though - you get what you pay for with Web hosting. Don’t go for some cheapo $5/month server for business hosting. Look more in the $20-30/mo range and make sure they have 24/7 support.