Orange is the New Black-Question

Do you think the portrayal of prison life in the show could cause some women to want to try it or at the least, not worry so much to avoid it?

I mean they dont really have to work, they get 3 meals a day and a bed, they can make friends, sell their underwear for money etc…

Its not unusual:LINK 1,Link 2

I guess if you do not currently have three meals and a bed you would be tempted.

But for the rest of the population I do not think the show makes prison a tempting option.

I don’t know very many people who’d want to wear maxi pads for shower shoes.

I’m no expert, but I’m guessing prison isn’t much like the show portrays.

Also, they are in a minimum security prison. They are making a show about the “country club prisons” that are always being talked about.

And no, that doesn’t look fun. The people for whom even minimum security prison would be a step up probably can’t afford a TV, let alone a Netflix subscription.

I think the intense relationships and belonging to a group can be alluring in OITNB. I’ve read that some offenders commit crimes shortly after being released because they miss prison/prison is the only life they can conceive of/three squares and a bed can be better than sleeping in an alley.

Sometimes, when I’m overwhelmed with work, I fantasize about being sent to prison for a month. I picture four blissful weeks of reading and taking long walks around the track.
But the real situation of having no privacy and dealing with other peoples’ smells, noise, and aggression is not one I would survive. Plus, I snore REALLY loud and Red would kill me in my bed :slight_smile:

My colleague jokes about the same thing, but her nightmare is that she would be made to teach GED classes all day.

If they can GET maxi pads. The majority of women are required to buy them, if they’re in stock at all. This is egregious.

Menstruation can become himiliation