Orchids

I create “living vivariums”, both for customers at work and for my own poison arrow frogs. I recently got a little orchid plant to add to my own vivarium, but I can’t find what species it is. I also can’t find any way to identify the various orchid species (and from there, find information on care), without having to muck through a ridiculous number of sites spewing the same generic info.

So I’m asking if anyone knows of, or can find, a good source of info on orchids and orchid species, including how to identify specific species (the specific latin name, not the common name) and how to care for a specific species.

A similar site for bromeliads (identification and species-specific care) would be pretty awesome too.

Thanks!

I am an amateur orchid grower, but I have some books.
What does it look like?
My first guess would be a jewel orchid from Black Jungle.

Meanwhile, try these guys.

Is the orchid in flower? If not, I would think it would be nearly impossible to identify it to species level, since the non-flowering parts of many orchids are very similar.

*Orchids for Everyone * from Gallery books is a rather nice volume. As orchids are rather easy to hybridize, there is a good chance you do not in fact have a species. There are more named cultivars than species, BTW.

Why do orchids stay in flower so long? Ours lasted about 3 months-of course, the cycle is very long (between flowering).

The plants desire to reproduce is very strong and expensive use of resources. If left unpollinated, the flowers will hang on as long as possible. Try pollinating one one next time it blooms. Orchids tend to coevolve with specific pollinators that are unlikely to live in your living room. A toothpick and a deft touch will allow you to impersonate one, however.That flower will wither quickly as the embryos begin to develop.