Organize against the IRS, attention Lawyers and CPAs test your knowledge

Here is the first anti IRS thread. It can get ridiculous so let’s be nice and keep our arguments to provable facts. My main focus is the promotion of something known as the 861 source position. The courts have just begun to deal with this, but it is not without controversy. Do not mess with the IRS!!! Discuss this and maybe we can write some letters.

Most of the information can be found at Taxableincome.net .

I really want to debate CPAs and Attorneys on the 861 position.

Wick

You should probably go more into what it is then.

I serioiusly doubt this is the first anti IRS thread.

What’s the debate?

I’m a CPA that does lots of tax work… but the 861 position? Never heard of it. Doesn’t seem to follow any of the numbering conventions that I see in code section, regs, sop (statement of position) or court cases. Give me a hint. I’ll look it up.

Here’s what I think the OP is talking about.

http://www.unclefed.com/ForTaxProfs/irs-drop/2001/n-01-40.html

I see. I went and took a look at the site. Appears to be another group that claims that the federal income tax is unlawful. Based on my quick look it seems that their angle is that the law only allows taxation of certain types of foreign and international commerce. So Congress wrote the law in such a way so that it could easily be miss interrupted to include taxation of other income. Code section 861 deals with what kind of income is treated as income form sources from within the US. So they say. I’m sure that they can make believable case that federal tax is illegal.

I’m all for paying the least amount of tax. I think that the tax code is ridicules. I spent too much time helping my clients avoid taxes and not enough time advising them on how to make their businesses more efficient and profitable.