Over-educated and under-experienced: how do I get from entry-level hell to a Career?

I’m having a bit of trouble dopers, and some advise from those who have been in a similar situation when younger would be nice. A quick background summary:

I finished my B.A. in criminal justice and sociology a few years ago with very little on-the-job experience. After seven months of unemployment I took a close-to minimum wage private security job. It’s a very boring and non-challenging job that I don’t particularly want or like but it pays the bills. I enrolled in an online Masters program with the University of Cincinnati, and recently received my Masters of Criminal Justice degree.

But now I seem to be stuck. I have a masters degree and still work at a crappy low-paying security job with no career prospects. I’ve sent out many many applications to career-type jobs, but rarely get a call back. When I call and inquire, they usually tell me I am either under-experienced, over-educated, or both. Employers seem to see that I have been a private security guard for three year and think “Well, I can’t see this guy wearing a tie and sitting at a desk for 8 hours doing paperwork”. It’s a shame, because ideally I’d want a job with my own desk, 9-5 hours, etc etc.

How can I stand out to employers? How can I convince them that I would be perfectly happy with $14/hr even though I have a grad degree? Internships have been suggested by some of my friends, but these seem to usually be unpaid and on conflicting hours with my work schedule and therefore just not affordable. I feel like time is ticking, and the longer I work at such a low-level job the harder it will be to convince employers that I’m not a fool and am worthy of something better.

Go out for the police force. That’s about the only other thing that degrees in criminal justice qualify you for.