Oxford comma question.

Is the Oxford commma used at Cambridge?

Ha.

Oxford comma is the term for now standard British usage. It does seem to have originated by association with Oxford printers. It is also called the serial comma.

Can’t say for sure if it’s used in the classroom, but in her book Between You and Me professional proofreader/grammarian Mary Norris claims with considerable glee that the serial comma is NOT used by Oxford’s business and marketing departments.

4 Copy Editors Killed In Ongoing AP Style, Chicago Manual Gang Violence

I never heard the phrase “Oxford comma” until quite recently (and I went to Cambridge). I can’t even remember being taught a formula or rule for commas, but no-one’s ever contradicted my usage.

I didn’t think an Onion cite was allowed in post #4 on GQ. I call foul.

Fortunately I don’t need to use it because my parents really were “Ayn Rand and God”.

As an erstwhile professional editor myself, I don’t think the Onion is exaggerating all that much.:wink:

In any case, I’m sure the OP itself is tongue-in-cheek.

ETA: Given this, this is probably better suited to MPSIMS.

I was going to say, I didn’t think the English worried about commas any more.

Nope. During my years writing/editing, I had lively conversations about the Oxford comma many times. And I don’t want to remember discussing the semicolon with half-literate rednecks. :smack:

The actual answer to the OP is that Cambridge’s resistance is weakening. True, the Cambridge University Press style guide merely demands consistency, although it does so rather grudgingly and the text of the style guide itself doesn’t use them. But other Cambridge style guides, such as those for specific academic journals or specific university faculties, do now insist on them. This, needless to say, is a sign that Western Civilisation (or should that be western civilisation?) is doomed.