Pandora radio question

I am new to Pandora and I said I wanted to hear music like 10,000 Maniacs. I am pretty surprised they think only groups with female singers sound like 10,000 Maniacs - to me that’s kind of dumb. Does Pandora do this kind of thing for other groups or artists?

Sorry - mods, can you move this to Cafe Society? I picked the wrong board by accident.

Click on the “why was this song selected” button for a few of the songs, and see what the defining attributes are. My guess would be that, whatever attributes they give to 10,000 Maniacs, they skew highly towards bands with female vocalists.

BTW, I’ve found that a Pandora station based on only a single artist gets very repetitive, very quickly. What I like to do is set up a half-dozen artist-based stations, and do a “quick mix” of those stations.

What kenobi said, but I would also give it a couple of weeks thumbing up/down songs before worrying too much about this one station. As you do that, the station will become more selective about what it chooses for you and will probably move in a direction more to your liking.

As far as variety, I also use the multiple artist-based stations with quick mix method kenobi suggests, but another alternative is adding more artists or songs to a single station.

Well, wouldn’t that be opening Pandora’s b…

Never mind. 'Tis done.

:wink: Ellen Cherry
Game Room Moderator

I’ll say! Also, apparently I am easily replaced by an algorithm because its predictions about what I like are too good - my attempts to use it to expose me to new music I might like are thwarted by it constantly playing stuff I have already purchased.

they did play 1 non-female song - Jack Johnson

I will do the mix idea.