Party tonight. Now I have to study.

Anyone else ever prepare for a party by studying?

Years ago I was at a party and someone introduced me to some guy named Kevin McClatchy. Seemed like a nice enough dude. He brought up the topic of Pirate baseball and I made a funny comment about how badly they sucked. Everyone stopped talking. Turns out McClatchy was the team owner. :eek:

I was embarrassed, but he laughed at my gaffe.

Fast forward to tonight. I’m going to a friend’s surprise 60th BD party. He is a good friend who, coincidentally, played for the Steelers during the 70s/80s. He has 4 Super Bowl rings and is in the football hall of fame.

Because of his past, there will be a few “sports legends” at the party. Supposedly there will be hall of famers from football, baseball, and hockey. Me, I watch a game here and there especially if the local team is having a good season.

So here I am studying local sports history. Hope I do not screw things up too badly tonight! I can’t name any names right now, but I can after the party if anyone is interested/curious.

This is the epitome of a “first world problem.” :smiley:

I’ve never studied for a party before, so I can’t answer that part of your OP, but I wonder if “not saying mean things about a sports team” when you know sports stars might be at the party could be the solution you’re looking for. Come up with some good zingers about something else in pop culture, and you’ll probably have a much more stress-free time at the party!

I think the first post covers it! Yeah, there will be a lot of guys there from the sports arena, and they’ll probably have stories and old times they’ll chat about with each other, but I have to imagine that anyone famous for any one thing would be more than happy to talk about SOMETHING ELSE!!

Figure out YOUR forte, and bring THAT to the party :slight_smile:

WoooHoooo…I wanna party with YOU!

I am in love with Pittsburgh …but I live in St Louis.