Penalty kicks in soccer

I watch a certain amount of soccer (this is a relatively new phenomenon, mostly just in the last couple years), so I haven’t seen a lot of penalty kicks made. Unless there’s a shootout at the end of the game, they’re pretty rare. But when they do happen, I notice that the goalkeeper virtually always jumps to the wrong side in his attempt to block it.

Now it may be that I’m not seeing a very representative sample, but assuming I am, I can think of two reasons for this:

1. Goalkeepers are very bad at judging which direction a kicker is kicking the ball.
  2. Goalkeepers jump before the kicker commits to kicking it a particular direction.

I strongly suspect that #2 is the main reason. After all, even if they’re bad at judging the direction, they should get it right about half the time. Instead, they’re wrong about 95% of the time. So has anyone attempted to fix this problem, or is it just too rare to be worth the time and energy to do it?

I’m not an expert, but have watched professional football (soccer) for 20 years and played it (at an extremely low level) for the same amount of time. I can assure you that professional goalkeepers and their coaches have and do spend considerable time and effort on trying to improve how many penalties they save. Ignoring shoot-outs, most teams can expect to have a few penalties given against them each season, so improving the odds so one more of those isn’t scored could (conceivably) be the difference between winning the championship or not. When you add the fact that they will be in a shoot-out probably at least every couple of years, it’s worth doing so.