Perceptions about degrees from Kaplan / DeVry / etc?

I’m an establshed knowledgable professional with over 10 years industry experience. The one thing my résumé lacks is the ‘education’ section - I have no college education to speak of.

I’m thinking of going with one of the online guys like Kaplan or Devry or University of Phoenix, pretty much just to get that bullet. What I want to know is - is my résumé better with a degree from one of these schools, or without?

Anyone here have a degree from one of these schools? What were your experiences, both in getting the degree & in subsequent job hunts?

Thanks!

I’ve done a lot of hiring – and I wouldn’t take such a credential seriously in evaluating a candidate.

But is it better or worse than no degree at all (in your opinion, of course)?

And, as a tangent, what would you think of a “Working on XYZ degree at a real school” line?

Thanks!

It really depends on the position. If I were hiring a network technician, I’d definitely prefer a degree from one of those institutions to nothing at all. If I were hiring a network engineer, it’d be a little tough to justify going after someone without a bachelor’s degree.

I’d suggest that the OP try to find an online program at a more traditional university. If you can be flexible about the type of program you want, it shouldn’t be too hard to find one, especially if you’re already committed to paying private tuition fees anyway.

Accredited, brick and mortar universities offer online programs as well. For instance, Florida State University offers both Bachelors and Masters degree programs online.