Perks of Specific Military Branches?

Hi all, I am a 16 year old (junior in high school) and looking to go into the military. I have been mulling over the idea for a few years now and have set my mind to it just recently. I have signed myself up for the next scheduled testing date of the ASVAB test and i am currently studying my ass of for it. I have done a little research on the branches of the US military and have narrowed my interests to 3-4 choices, Coast Guard, Air Force, and Army. I currently work as a lifeguard so the Coast Guard interests me for obvious reasons. I have always loved flying and planes/helicopters so the Air Force came to mind almost immediately, however I do have corrected vision so I am not quite sure if that will affect my pilot status. I have also decided that I would not want to shy away from a fight so the Army interests me extremely, Marines also interested me but as of now I am not sure if I would be able to make the physical requirements (I am currently 5’ 9" and about 190lbs, ive got muscle but also way more fat then id like to have) I work out on a regular basis and hopefully will achieve optimal weight by the end of senior year. If anyone has experience with the military or any insight in my current situation i would love the input!:smiley:

Moderator Action

Welcome to the SDMB.

The General Questions forum is for questions with factual answers. While some of your post can be answered factually, I think your thread will do better if we move this to a forum where folks can give advice and opinions as well. Our IMHO forum is also the place where you can poll for personal experiences.

Moving thread from General Questions to In My Humble Opinion.

I always recommend the Navy, because wherever you go, it’s almost guaranteed that your bed and the kitchen will go with you. :slight_smile:

The Coast Guard would be pretty much the same, I suppose, but Coasties don’t get to do this.