Persuade me that deafness & hearing impairment are not best thought of as disabilities.

Elsewhere on the Dope, someone I am not trying to start a fight with writes:

This is a sentiment I have heard before; it was drilled into me when I was a relay operator/manager back in the day. Here’s a website on which it is referred to as a gift. There are dear or hearing impaired persons who so value deaf culture that they are hesitant to alleviate hearing impairments in their children when such is possible through technology such as cochlear implants. Such persons often refer to the hearing as “temporarily abled.”

Convince me that this view is correct. Or, if you prefer, argue that it’s wrong.

Why, yes, I did preview this post before hitting submit to make sure everything was capitalized properly, or at least as I intended. Why do you ask?

It’s wrong. People who can’t hear are less capable than those who can, and are lacking a sense that humans are built to have. The position that there’s no such thing as ill health or defects is a silly and self destructive one. I’ve long felt that the real point of turning being deaf into a “culture” is to provide job security for the self appointed advocates of the “Deaf community”; it’s as if advocates for smallpox sufferers had fought the elimination of the disease because they’d be out of a job when the disease was gone.

I agree that the point of view quoted in the OP is misguided. Hearing is a sense, one of only 5. Loss of hearing is loss of quite a few pleasures in life - birds singing, music (especially the kind you can’t feel), conversation, Howard Hawks movies, and so on. The one positive I have seen for it is exposure to sign language, which I’m sure is a very nice language, apparently very expressive, although I wonder if it is more expressive that good spoken English. But there is nothing to prevent a hearing person from learning sign language, indeed many do who have family members who have hearing loss.