Philosophical evidence for evolution?

I’m looking for something like a priori arguments (if that’s possible) for evolution. As in, how would you explain and defend evolution to a creationist that has little to no knowledge or interest in science? Are there any logical principles that intuitively make evolution more reasonable or likely than creationism?

The reason I ask is because I’m an evolutionist myself but I have no idea why. I’m not a scientist and I don’t understand most scientific arguments I’ve read about evolution. My position is solely based on faith in mainstream scientists. They seem to know what they’re talking about, so I just stick with the status quo. I’m interested in understanding the principles behind the theory without engaging super difficult explanations. I must admit, I like how creationists can simply prattle off, “Something can’t come from nothing, ergo God” and “Every effect has a cause and the world is an effect needing a cause” without having to appeal to empirical evidence. Wrong as they may be, their position is easily explained to virtually anyone. FWIW, I realize it’s unnecessary to equate evolution to atheism, but if evolution is to be scientific I think it has to be able to account for the origin of life without an appeal to the supernatural.

Can evolutionists also provide easily understood arguments?

There are two things wrong with these arguments:

(1) What created the first creator, i.e., what created God? What caused the first cause?

(2) These are philosophical arguments about what created or caused the universe. Evolution is not about that, it’s about the origin of species (in the words of Darwin’s book) – not the origin of the universe, and not even about the origin of life. So, philosophically, the debate is about whether God intervened to create each species ever found on Earth, or whether inherited characteristics combined with natural selection is enough to explain the variety of species found on Earth.