Photography: Where to Start

I’ve recently become interested in photography, specifically outdoor nature stuff. I’m a complete amateur, I’ve gotten some good results using (believe it or not) a disposable panaromic Fujifilm camera but I know it gets better. I see these shots that encompass this huge area of the sky and wonder how it is done. Large lens? What kind of camera can I get that will take proper panaromic pictures with very high quality? I know it can get really expensive too, but of course I’m on a budget so cost matters. Any tips will be greatly appreciated, thanks!

I make panoramas by shooting with a digital camera and stitching the photos together with Panorama Factory http://www.panoramafactory.com/index.html

You can take photos with huge areas of sky with a wide angle or “fisheye” lens. A fisheye lens can cover more than a 180 degree field of view.

Purpose made panoramic cameras and ultra wide angle lenses can be extremely expensive. There are a couple of routes to go and you can tell the results by how the image looks if there are straight lines in the scene. If all the straight lines are straight or almost so that’s probably a wide angle recilinear lens. If vertical lines are straight and other lines are distinctly curved it may be a panoramic camera. It takes a shot like a photo finish camera at a racetrack with a moving vertical slit. If all straight lines except those on a perfect radial are curved it’s probably a fisheye lens.

If you want to get good panoramas on a budget there are some digital cameras that can do a bangup job. The Canon powershot A series comes with a feature to help you take correctly aligned overlapping shots and has special software do do the warping to each frame so everything matches up. Even with the lower resolution A10 I have it produces some astonishingly good panoramas. If I’m careful when taking the shots the final results are difficult to tell from a true panoramic camera.