Photoshop/Graphics people: what do I need to bone up on for a job interview?

I was just called for a job interview for a position advertised as a Web Designer. According to the requirements, they want both programming - which I’ve got years of experience in - and graphics stuff, mainly Photoshop. I know the basics of Photoshop, and have created Web sites using Photoshop and ImageReady. However, I’m far from an expert. I’d describe myself as intermediate level - I can do pretty much what I want with it, but I may have to screw around with it first or look some stuff up on the Web.

The good part is that I can learn software fast. I’m a computer person, they like me. Computers tend to do what I want them to do with a minimum of hassle. Problem with Photoshop is that it’s BIG, and graphics are not my strong spot.

Can anyone give me a lowdown of what the important bits of Photoshop are so I can make sure I’m familiar with all of them before the interview?

Automation, man.

You want to be able to create and modify actions so that you can turn out good looking work quickly.

Having a “toolkit” of useful actions (that you’ve made yourself) is a good thing.

For example, you’ll want a variety of actions for making distinctive-looking navigational buttons. Something to shoot for is an action where you set a selection, foreground and background colours, run the action and end up with a 3D-looking button. Bonus points if you include prompts for text-input to label the button, and have the action produce seperate mouseover states on different layers. Actions to produce scaled or set-sized thumbnails are often useful, too. That sort of stuff.