Piano Music for Beginners?

I’ve been teaching myself piano for a few months now, and I’d like to start learning some new music. I’d like some advice for some good ‘beginner - intermediate’ music pieces, preferably with sheet music available on the net. That probably limits it to classical.

I can read music well enough (I played an Alto Sax for years), but I still have problems breaking my hands apart and playing independently. I can play a few siimple pop songs (“Desperado”, “Let it Be”), and a couple of classical pieces like the Fur Elise and the opening section of Bach’s Minuet in G.

So, any suggestions for some music that’s fun to play and will help me learn to play better?

To be honest, if you want to enjoy playing you should play stuff that you like. I taught myself to play starting with a copy of the sheet music to Phantom of the Opera that my dad had bought – not the “easy piano” version, but the real one. Started with picking out the melodies, added simple left hands, went from there. From what I’ve seen, a lot of people get turned off of whatever instrument they’re learning because what they’re playing doesn’t sound terribly much like real music. :slight_smile:

If you’re looking for free sheet music on the 'net, then yeah, it’s likely to be limited to classical due to copyright thingamajigs. Another possibility, though, is to get a program that can change MIDI files to sheet music. I use Noteworthy Composer, but that’s because it’s what I use to print all of my sheet music. I’m sure there’s programs out there that specialize in MIDI to sheet music conversion.

In terms of breaking your hands apart and such, all I can say is practice each of the hands’ parts separately a lot before putting them together. Memorizing helps. Also, try stuff with really simple left-hand parts, or simplify what’s there.