Pickleball?

Is anyone playing this? I had to give up racquetball due to a wrist problem and thought this looked like a game for kids but apparently it can be fun /competitive? A place nearby started offering it and I’m thinking about giving it a try. Waste of time or not?

Pickleball is a great game with a really stupid name. I recommend it.

My wife and I started playing half a year ago. For those who don’t know the game, it can be played indoors or outdoors and is played on a court similar to tennis, but with a smaller playing area. It is usually played with doubles. The ball is a wiffle ball, and the paddles are solid, not stringed. It is a bit like a combination of tennis and ping pong.

At first pickleball may seem like an easy game and a beginner can keep the ball going fairly easily from the start. But one soon realizes that there is a ton of strategy, and the game can get very intense.

The game seems to be exploding in popularity across North America at least. In Calgary you can pick up a game just about any day. A lot of older people seem to like the game as it is a bit easier on them than other racket sports. But I am also seeing a lot of young players getting involved. There are many youtube videos to get an idea of the game.

This sounds like what we used to call “paddle tennis”. It was indeed fun and much easier to master than regular tennis. When did it start being called pickleball?

We called it pickleball back in the 80’s. We had tournaments during high school gym and it was a blast. Haven’t played it much since but would definitely play again.

I freakin’ love pickle ball. My dad and his wife are retired and living at The Villages in FL. They introduced us to the game when we were visiting. They have competitive leagues for this game! Mrs. MeanJoe and myself were feeling pretty good when we came close to winning our first game. We lost every single game after that by pretty hefty margins… to an old retired couple. Dammit!