Pizza stone Dopers, share your wisdom

So **Dangerosa **went to a Pampered Chef party at a neighbor’s house, and ordered me a pizza stone. It arrived while she was out of town, but has now been unboxed and sits there waiting for me to do something with it.

I’ve made pizzas before (worked at Davanni’s back in the day, although most of my time was in the back doing prep or manning the hoagy ovens), but it’s been many years.

I’m sure there are a few folks out there with real-world experience with them – please share.

Those suckers are great! I’m no expert, but here’s what I know:
-It’s really helpful to have a pizza peel to go with the stone. I tried for awhile to do the “back of a cookie sheet” method, but that method sucks. Get a pizza peel.
-Heat the stone in the oven for at least half an hour, at a very high heat (e.g., 500 fahrenheit), before putting the pizza on. This lets the stone sear the pizza crust, making it good and crunchy.
-If you can, transfer the pizza off the stone before you cut it. Otherwise the sauce and cheese get on the stone and make a big mess.
-They’re also great for baking bread on. I’ve used it for pita and focaccia, both of which came out delicious in part because of the intense heat they got from the stone.

Daniel

Don’t use soap when you wash it - treat it like a cast iron skillet.

Beyond that, nothing different really (on preview, do let it heat up in the oven like LHoD suggests), just make yer pizza and put it on the stone! Bagels are also quite good heated on it in the oven, all tasty and crunchy.

IIRC, the Pampered Chef stone I bought came with instructions to cook something greasy on it the first time out, like refrigerated biscuits (Pillsbury or the like).
My Pampered Chef stone broke about a month ago after 6 or 7 years of frequent use. I think it was a pretty good return on investment. Two things I am convinced made mine last longer than my friends’ stones: