Playoff coming to college football in '14...

For those of you who’ve been waiting, the time seems to be now.

Thoughts? Will this improve viewership/interest? Or is the execution/very concept flawed?

I think it’s a great first step, regardless of how terrible the selection committee bungs things up.

Additionally, as a resident of Indianapolis, I like my chances of the championship game being here every several years. (C’mon - you know we’re going to get it every 5 years, just like the NCAA tournament. The NCAA is headquartered here, we just threw a top-notch Super Bowl party, and there isn’t a single competitive team in the whole state*.)
*That’s right - and I’m an ND grad.

Seems alright. I’m sure there will still be howls when the selection committee makes its picks. It’ll be interesting to see what they do - will their picks end up just matching the polls?

It still seems like a fundamental problem that teams can’t just play their way in.

What does this even mean? Wouldn’t the 12 or 13 games the teams already played be “playing their way in”? I’m confused.

I personally have some concerns with a committee picking the four participants. I don’t think the BCS formula has been all that bad at putting the best teams at the top of the list - we all may quibble at the specific rankings, but the best teams were all up there somewhere. I think a lot of it is simple mistrust of the computer ratings, which makes it somewhat ironic that the proposed solution is to have a bunch of old ex-administrators/coaches/players select the top four. That’s supposed to be more “fair” than computer algorithms?

I am looking forward to this playoff system, though. I think four participants is a good number (it’s got to be very rare to have five or more teams that could really, honestly lay claim to the title - yet that’s still a good number to spark interest and discussion). I also like they made it a 12-year commitment, so they won’t be monkeying around with the format right away.