Please explain Camp to me.

This is bullshit.

What is camp? Why is Elinor Glyn in It camp?

How is All About Eve camp?

What is it?

Gee, Ilsa, but maybe you might want to go into a little more detail about why that considerably elaborate definition with numerous examples (running 58 separate points at over 6000 words) is “bullshit” before any of the Dopers feel inclined to expend any more energy explaining it to you.

Well, the masturbatory and overprosaic style of pseudo-semi-intellectual explication really grates on my nerves. The art of using way too many words to say very little is quite bothersome. In the English classes I had to take, we reveled in that style and I recoil from it instantly.

I am a science student/ist, and I write and read things written in a concise and clear manner. 6,000 words doesn’t really have much meaning; Twain was paid by the word, hence the excesses of his early and middle works.
So; a clear and concise definition of camp in cinema would be appreciated.

Sontag’s essay - and what is it doing up there in full on that website, BTW - was the essay that brought camp to public attention, all the way back in 1964. It defined the subject and the way the subject was talked about. Not wanting to bother to read it and saying that it’s too long when it is a listing of items indicates that you don’t really want to learn anything, you just want to gripe.

Not going to help you there.

I read the whole goddamn thing twice.

The use of prose to mask a dearth of content was what I took from it.

Excerpted from your own “BS” link: