Please help a total newbie buy a wok (and learn to stir fry)!

I’ve been slowly but surely moving into a cook more/cook healthier attitude. I’ve lately been very interested in learning how to stir-fry, but my “research” is leaving me hopelessly confused, especially my search for the perfect wok.

First off, I have a flat-burner glass electric stove. Can I even USE a wok on this? Do I get a flat bottom wok or a round bottom with a collar? Or do I forget the stove and use an electric wok? Or forget it and use a regular skillet? If it matters, I am only interested in stir-fry, no other type of cooking in the wok.

All the websites I’ve read have recommended a carbon steel wok. Is this true or does it really matter? (Remember - total newbie here, only interested in basic stir-fry.) And is 14 inches a good size? Can I go cheap or will I regret it if I skimp?

Thanks so much for any advice you can give, not just on the equipment but also on good stir-fry techniques for a beginner.

Oh, one last question - is there a “stock your wok” list of materials/spices/sauces that I should know of to get started?

I use a flat bottom on electric, round on gas. The asian market has burners for about $15

A good place to start learning Tigers & Strawberries » Chinese Cooking Lessons

Start at the oldest. Lots of wok talk , ingredients methods, the lots of recipes as well.

Meflin

I have used every variety of wok you mention and they all work fine. I find most people are more comfortable with an electric non-stick if you can get one cheap. Cuts out most of the heat variables. Just learn what setting does the job and stick to it. When I was married and used one for a family of four I would rinse it out straight away and put it back in the drawer.

The only other essential tip you need is that really stir fries are assemblies.