Please recommend me some jazzy songs - scat and swing especially!

What the title says (and no poo jokes please!) :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m very new to jazz - I don’t even know if the above sort of songs are jazz at all. I’d love to start a CD collection because I’ve noticed a lot of my favourite songs have the same sort of style to them, but I have no idea where to start. The swing songs I like are the big band, swing dancing-type ones like Sing Sing Sing and upbeat versions of Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend. If anyone could recommend me some songs and CDs along those lines I’d be grateful.

Also does anyone have recommendations for songs with great examples of scat? I’ve heard it in a couple of modern songs and really liked the sound of it, but I don’t have the faintest idea where to begin - and I’m too scared to search for “scat” on the internet.

Additionally, what category of jazz do songs like Almost Like Being In Love (Nat King Cole, Sinatra, etc) belong to? They’re sort of ballady but swingy and they just make you want to get up and dance.

Thanks for any help!

The pure “jazz song” may not even exist. Songs that have a jazz feel even when done “straight” fall into the category that used to be called “pop” before “pop” came to mean mostly “rock.”

Having said that, “jazz songs” include things like:

Round Midnight
Here’s That Rainy Day
When Sunny Gets Blue
I Got Rhythm
How High The Moon
Misty
Autumn Leaves
When The Sun Comes Out
Since I Fell For You
Sweet Georgia Brown
Georgia On My Mind
Stardust
Blues In The Night
Early Autumn

I could go on, but the ones listed are just the first ones I thought of. Are any of these in the category you’re thinking of?

May I direct you to this thread? There are lots and lots of links to early pop and jazz sites.