Pleased with your MBA?

They’re just making this too convenient, gosh darn them all to heck.

I recently became aware of the MBA High Tech program in lock-step format at ASU. The way it works is that you go to class from 6-10PM Tue and Thur (or Mon and Wed) during the school year (I believe you get summers off, unless you take electives at that time) for two years and receive your degree. Not only does this take place after work, but the classes are taught at the research park where I work, making it even more convenient, those farging bastages.

My background: I work as an analysis and simlulation engineer for a small company. My job entails verifying component integrity using Computer Aided Engineering (CAE) and/or closed form equations (usually the former) before the parts are built and tested. I also train people to use the aforementioned CAE software. I’m fortunate in that I have the opportunity to get involved not only with the engineering work and training I do, but with the business side of things as well. That being said, I feel as though I’m lacking some fundamentals when it comes to making sound business decisions and understanding the inner workings of the business–not that I’m completely in the dark, I just see some room for improvement. For some time, I’ve thought it would be a good idea to get some business-type (management, finance, accounting, etc.) classes under my belt. If I’m going to go that far, I figure it may be a good idea to go ahead and get the degree as well. Plus, the field in which I work could use more people with both engineering and business savvy. To summarize, I’m not really interested in letting go of engineering to become CEO of General Electric, I just want to have a “well-rounded” career.