Pocket pistol power

There have been many debates about pistols’ ‘stopping power’. The venerable .45 ACP and the 9mm Parabellum can be useful in wartime situations. But the Walther PP (Polizei Pistole), the PPK (Polizei Pistole Kurz) and the Colt 1903 among others have been used by police and criminals alike with enough effectiveness to achieve some longevity. Aside from the obvious concealability advantage, is there any reason not to choose .32 ACP for a personal protection firearm?

I’m not an expert on the use of firearms for self-defence, but I will say that the .32ACP cartridge is the minimum I’ve heard recommended by gun writers in the US for a defensive calibre handgun.

My understanding is that potential opponents nowadays are more likely to be on some kind of stimulant/narcotic/alcohol (or cocktail of all three) and a smaller calibre gun just isn’t going to do much to stop them in an unpleasant situation which involve the defensive use of a firearm.

The thing is, nowadays you can get a similar sized gun that will chamber 9mm Parabellum (or even .40S&W or .45ACP), so unless you really want to feel like James Bond or you’re an exceptionally good shot, I’m not sure that picking a .25 or .32 ACP calibre handgun for self-defence reasons is a good idea anymore.

No doubt someone with more experience on the subject will be along shortly to provide a more comprehensive reply, though…

While “stopping power” when referencing to handgun is mostly bunch of hooey (all handguns are lousy stoppers), .32 ACP is suboptimal as a personal protection because it lacks in the guaranteed penetration department. Because of that chances of hitting vital organ are smaller than when compared to full-power handgun caliber (.38 and above), and thus chances of successfully stopping attacker are also a little smaller. It probably would do it’s job, there are just better tools available.