Political Celibacy

I’m currently living in a state of political celibacy and loving each and every moment of my newly-acquired indifference. Due to the “unbelievable” fact that I’m not a scientist, not a physicist, not even (dare I admit it) a philosopher, (not one studied in any of these and similar professions of intellectual certitude…I’m merely a pianist), who am I to question the laws of reason and gravity?

If skyscrapers vanish into dust and forgetfulness, if alleged misfits suddenly become ace pilots and masters at box-cutter warfare, who am I to question it? If a Flight 800 explodes off the Long Island coast and what was witnessed as going up was actually coming down, and what was seen going sideways was actually going nowhere but somewhere, who am I to question this?

Having been wandering around between Heaven and Earth on the day of JFK’s one-way trip to Dallas (I was nine), I should know better. That was also a day of wonder and sorcery, when there existed another misfit who performed the incredible feat of not only precision shooting with a cheap Italian-made rifle, but had also mastered the mind-blowing ability to fire “magic bullets” with it as well. Indeed, those were magical days of magic bullets, grassy knolls, now-you-see-it/now-you-don’t witnesses and evidence…and all of those other minor spectacles of amazement which are modestly and conveniently brushed-off as coincidence and blamed on the concoctions of radicals and screwballs.