Politics in High School Theater

I just have to vent. I was originally Stage Manager for our adaptation of Great Expectations. I didn’t want to, cause I’m not good at that kind of responsibility. I have no doubt that I could do it, but I didn’t really want to.
It turns out that in a play with a 11m/9f cast, about 20 girls auditioned and 6 guys. “Oh, shit.” He recruits me to audition, and tries to get others to. I get cast, and I’m no longer SM.
Today, the cast lists goes up. All teh guys who auditioned, and about three who DIDN’T, made it. Meanwhile, three great girls were overlooked. I understand that he needs to bring in more freshmen, but ione of these girls won “Best Actress in a Play” last year in our theater awards. Of course, the costumer’s sucky daughter made it.
On the other hand, I realize that our Theater guy takes this damn seriously, and he really does a good job; we routinely amaze audiences.
I may also be biased cuz the aforementioned three girls are gorgeous, but still, this sucks, don’t it?

{Shameless plug: Anyone in SF Nov. 11-13, 18-20, 7:30 PM? Ten dollar tix, I’d love to have you!)

JMcC from SFCA
http://members.tripod.com/~weirdstuff/index.html <fixed link!

Wierd. There are only like five major male roles. You’d think that the other male roles could actually be unisex.

Veni, Vidi, Visa … I came, I saw, I bought.

Can’t help with the politics problem, but I thought you might be comforted by another hard-luck casting story:

In college, I belonged an enthusiastic but outrageously incompetent Shakespeare society. Their first full-length production was a trans-gendered version of As You Like It; it wasn’t very good, but at least we managed to find actors (16 women, 4 men) for all the roles. Next semester we decided to do a much more traditional production of the Scotch play. You guessed it, the same four guys auditioned, and it was painfully obvious that none of them were capable of playing Macbeth.