Poll: Did you/do you know when your college catalog expired/will expire?

I work at a college, and a few times per year former students contact us about finishing their degrees. In some cases, these students have been away for years*, and frequently discover that their college catalog has expired and the requirements for the degree they were planning have changed. Sometimes the changes are trivial, while in other students are surprised to learn that requirements changed substantially, which requires them to take additional courses in order to graduate.

The saddest cases are the students who honestly thought they had graduated, and only found out later that they didn’t. The majority of former students know they needed something else to finish their degree, but many of them don’t realize that their catalogs have an expiration date and that requirements can change.

When I was an undergrad, I never had any idea that I had a deadline to finish my degree without possibly having new requirements. I had a very traditional college experience, heading off to a four-year school at 18 and graduating from the same at 22. No one I ever talked to, whether advisor, professor, or fellow student, brought it up.

As an employee, we mention this briefly at new-student orientation, but it’s not something that gets brought up a lot because the vast majority of our students finish in within two to six years. When I work individually with students who might be affected because they’re planning long absences, I make sure to tell them.

Is this something everyone but me knew about or this an issue that few people know about? If you had a catalog that never expired, that would be interesting too.

*In one case it had been decades, and involved a very cool lady returning to finish her degree in her sixties.