Poll: Would you see a non-lawyer for simple legal issues?

I’m embroiled in a debate here about the practice of law by lawyers vs. paralegals, and am curious to see what the Doper public thought. Hence - a poll!

Question - Would you go see a paralegal, instead of a lawyer, for help with a simple problem, if it would save you substantial money? In the case we’re discussing in GD, it’s a simple bankruptcy for $300 for a paralegal vs. $1200 for a lawyer, but it would also apply to simple things like drafting a will, transferring real estate or a quickie divorce.

You’ve poisoned the well a bit with your choices. I chose the fourth, but not because I think only lawyers can understand the law. I just don’t believe things would probably be ok with a paralegal. I’m a lawyer and I would still hire a lawyer.

Yeah, what about choice #6: “No - only lawyers can be sued (in any useful way) for legal malpractice.”

I wonder if you think, economically, this is a very tenable system. Why would paralegals charge so little when the market-clearing rate is apparently much higher? Would attorneys stay in the “simple bankruptcy” game if paralegals were capturing all that business with their bargain-basement prices? And if not, as they probably would not, where would future “simple bankruptcy” paralegals come from? After all, they couldn’t come from the firms, since the firms no longer have that practice area.