In pool, can the eight ball be hit in before another ball if the all of the balls go into the pockets before the next move? For example, if there is the eight ball and another left; the player hits the cueball in such a manner that knocks the eight ball into a pocket, and then the remaining ball. No other rules are broken.
No.
According to the American Poolplayers’ Association rules (pdf), “failure to hit your object ball first” is a foul (and it specifically notes that the 8-ball is not neutral). Later, under “ways to lose,” it says one of those is to foul the cue ball and then pocket the 8. Another is to pocket the 8 out of turn (which you would have by hitting it before your final object ball.
In your situation, the player would lose.
Keeping in mind, my rules are based on playing at home with dad and at the bar with friends, nothing serious, never picked up a rule book in my life. But, I’m 99% sure that if you pocket the eight ball in the situation you described, you would lose the game. In fact, I think just hitting the eight ball before one of your balls would be a foul and it would be the other persons turn.
(BTW I assume you’re playing 8 ball here. If this was 9 ball it would be different.)
Also note the last sentence of the rules, which states the 8-ball must be pocketed as the last ball on a separate shot–so even if you knocked the balls in such a way that your last object ball went in first, and then the 8 (on the same shot), you lose.
You must clear all your balls in first, then hit the 8 in on a separate shot.
As an alternate answer to the OP, yes.
If all the other balls (assuming 8 ball rules) go in off the break, and then the 8, you win! :rolleyes:
Otherwise, on a real break, if you sink the 8, you do win (damn hard to do).
Or, if you’re playing “house rules / friend rules” and allowing BS shots, anything goes.
BTW, I have cleared a table using BS shots and no calling, but it wasn’t satisfactory.
I have also been in The Zone situations, about 5 beers or so, where I couldn’t miss a shot. Add a beer to that, and you’re lucky if I don’t rip the felt.
Depends under whose rules you’re playing. Under APA rules or bar rules, yes, that’s a win if you don’t scratch.
Under World Standardized Rules, as promoted by the Billiard Congress of America and the World Pool-Billiard Association, you re-rack or re-spot the 8.
I even have a book somewhere from the 80s that explicitly says pocketing the 8 on the break is a loss (because it clearly does not fulfill the rules governing when the 8 can be knocked in), but I have no idea whether this was ever a mainstream rule or not.
Special rules for break shots aside, I believe that in all (formal) rules everywhere, you lose if you pocket the 8 ball on the same shot that you pocket one of your group of balls, no matter which falls first. In fact, there are no rules that consider the order of which ball falls first on any shot.
I would even go further, as I’ve never come across any house/bar rules that permit this, either.
Yeah, I was going to say something along those lines as well, but when posting here, I always remember the point that “all general statements are false.”
I’ve never come across anyone who believes it would be OK to pocket your last ball and the eight on the same shot, by reading between the lines of the OP, I’d say Strinka might play that way.
Well, I’ve never really had the situation come up. I’d have to be incredibly lucky to get a shot like that. I was just curious about this.
Thanks all.
Since the OP seems to be answered, I hope I won’t catch too much heck for asking another pool question. In nine-ball, is there a specific rule on how the balls should be racked? I know that the one must be the first ball and the nine the middle, but how about the rest?
Sorry if I have unduly hi-jacked the thread.
Yup. That’s it. One on top, nine in the middle, at least according to WCA rules. Long time ago, I learned a slightly more precise method: one on top, two on the left, three on the bottom, four on the right. The rest however they fall. Since I’ve long been in the habit of arranging balls this way, this is how I rack 9 ball. But it’s supposed to be 1 on top, nine in the middle, and the rest randomly scattered.
This is also true according to the American Poolplayers’ Association rules that I posted above.
And the BCA 9-ball rules also - the other seven balls are randomly placed.