Portable Hard Drives: Linux and Mac

Hi there,

I’m purchasing a portable hard drive as a christmas present for my brother and I’m wondering about compatibility issues.

Most of the portable hard drives I’ve taken a look at do not mention Linux, and I have no experience with that particular OS whatsoever, so I’m not sure if there are ever any compatibility issues with it.

What it will be used for is backing up a PS3 in order to install Linux onto it (or something along those lines) and also for carrying around large amounts of raw music data for various Macs.

Would most that say they work with Mac OS work with the PS3/Linux too?

Any modern USB hard drive will be compatible with both Linux and Mac, but the recipient will need to format the drive to give it a suitable file system.

Most USB drives as shipped are either formatted FAT32 or NTFS. FAT32 is usable from Linux, OS X(Mac), and Windows, but cannot handle large files. NTFS formatted drives can be used from Linux (with caveats) and Windows, but I am not sure if OS X supports it.

Anyhow, the disk can be formatted easily enough to suit.

Si

NTFS is supported on a read-only basis by MacOS X right out of the box; to turn on the ability to write to those drives you need to install MacFUSE and the NTFS-G extension. Works fine in my limited experience: save existing files with modifications, copy files from local drive to the NTFS drive, delete files, rename files, create folders, delete folders, move files into or out of folders, etc etc.

HFS+ (aka HFS Extended), the modern Mac-native format, is also supported on the other two platforms with appropriate add-ons. I think the popular one for Windows is called MacDrive.

I don’t spend much time in Linux builds but I understand that the drivers do exist:

So that’s a second modern/robust format that all 3 platforms can use.