Possible for building materials in a room where X-rays were taken to become permanently irradiated?

Just curious.

In a doctor’s office where lots of CT scans and X-Rays were taken is it possible for the floor concrete and surrounding building materials to become permanently irradiated and potentially pose an environmental radiation hazard a year of so after the office shut down and all the equipment was removed?

I never heard about this as a possible hazard and I’ve been leasing commercial and medical space for 25 years. A potential leasing client has expressed some concerns about this possibility.

It’s hard to make materials radioactive by exposure to radiation. In your case the concern would be more toward spilled radioactive waste than building materials. If your client is concerned, a Geiger counter sweep should convince then the space is safe.

No. It is not possible.

X-rays are a completely different kind of ‘radiation’ than the kind that (can, sometimes) turn other material to become radioactive.

Well, it IS possible for induced radioactivity to occur via photodisintegration but this requires high energy gamma rays. Gamma rays are the same “type” of radiation as X-rays (and are in fact the same as ordinary light), just higher energy. But the minimum energy required for photodisintegration seems to be around 10,000 keV. Ordinary diagnostic X-rays are typically 20-150 keV, and therapeutic X-rays used to treat cancer are less than 600 keV. Higher energy X-rays are occasionally used medically, but producing them requires a linear accelerator, not something you’d find in a typical doctor’s office, or even a typical hospital.

–Mark