Post Office Vehicles

I really haven’t started noticing this until the past year or so. Any and every time I see a U.S. Postal Service vehicle (typically, the small trucks that the postman drives around, delivering mail locally), the vehicle doesn’t have license plates, front or back! FYI, I’m a California resident so I can’t speak for the 49 States.

Typically, local and state public agency vehicles carry “Exempt” status license plates; so I’m wondering, did the USPS strike a deal with all 50 States to be free and void of having to affix license plates to their vehicles?

The last bank robbery using one of those dinky PO trucks was in 1978. They aren’t considered a flight risk. :slight_smile:

I think yes, the gummint markings and vehicle serial number have been judged sufficient as a time- and cost-saving measure. You’ll note that the military trucks and humvees that pass you don’t have plates, either, but go ahead and argue with them if you like.

My USPS associate supervisor husband agrees that the truck number affixed to the top of each vehicle in front and back serves as the vehicle’s unique identifier, and it’s used by police in cases where the vehicle is involved in a traffic accident and so forth. (I suspect this also leads to less confusion/hassle if the vehicles are transferred between offices in different states.) This is a federal government agency that relies on vehicles, so it makes sense.

Other Federal government vehicles will have a Federally-issued license plate (if they have a license plate at all), so it’s not like the USPS has a special deal to let it avoid having to get state-issued plates.

Thank you, Amateur Barbarian, you’re reply is the most logical (and I figured it would be something along those lines). I guess we’d all like to see the Federal Government utilize some more cost-savings measures!

Post office vehicles also don’t have any insurance information carried on them. The post office self insures for the most part.