Pregnant after tubal ligation

I know a lady that has just learned that she’s pregnant (regular uteral pregnancy) nine years after a tubal ligation in which they (supposedly) cut and burnt the tubes.

Aren’t these procedures “guaranteed” for at least 10 years?

Does she have the basis for a successful lawsuit? Comments please!

Contestant #3

No female sterilization method is 100% unless the ovaries are removed. That includes hysterectomy. I don’t know whether the procedure might be guaranteed by the individual doctor; what exactly would you collect in case of failure?

How about the fee charged for the ligation or maybe even the fee for the delivery of the resulting child?

LeslieMcD: Hysterectomy does not preclude pregnancy? I ask this seriously, as I am an editor of med/sci journals. What would a fetus attach to and grow in, absent a uterus? Are we talking about ectopic pregnancy? How often are these successful? Ever?

If a tubal ligation is successfully performed, I suspect the answer to Contestant #3’s question is yes. It may depend on if it is an ectopic, self-limiting pregnancy. But pregnancy should not result from a successful procedure, as I understand it. Sperm should have no access to the Fallopian tubes.

jdv

Thanks for your perspective jdv. The doctor that performed the tubal ligation nine years ago is also the doctor that she has seen to confirm the pregnancy and he said something like “there must be a pinhole-sized opening”.

We’ve heard of this happening to women whose tubes were merely “clamped”, but haven’t heard of this in women whose tubes were cut and burnt.

OK, Contestant, I think I’m getting the picture a little better. It is a uteran pregnancy, following a clamp procedure. And the same doctor who did the first procedure is confirming the pregnancy, right?