Preparation for Healthy Living in a Basement

I have a terrible inflammatory chest infection at the moment, which could just be a result of cold season – however – I’ve recently just moved into a basement and I’m beginning to wonder if the conditions down here could be the cause. I go to sleep with a space heater on every night in a 6 ft X 8 ft room. My questions are 1. is that harmful for the healing process? and 2. is there any kind of preparation I can take to make it better for living down here/prevent it from happening again? (if it is the cause) – thanks in advance

I am no doctor but you probably need to double check if you are getting enough ventilation down there.

you want a healthy level of humidity, near 50% is good.

Is there any mold or mildew in the basement? I lived in a basement apartment for a few years and it was miserable in winter, with very cold floors.

I lived in a basement as a child and it was very damp. About 2 inches worth of damp if it rained heavily! I’m sure there was mold and other issues.

If it is damp, you might want to consider getting a dehumidifier to dry out the air some. As another bonus, a dehumidifier creates a lot of heat. You might not even need the space heater as much.

Be sure to get a radon test, if you’re living in an area that has any radon issues. If you don’t know and can’t figure it out, then get a test kit; they’re a lot cheaper than cancer. This is unlikely to be related to your chest infection, though.

See a doctor. You may need to be treated for asthma (even if you’re not typically asthmatic.) I do have asthma, but didn’t find out about it for the longest time. I kept getting chest infections that wouldn’t go away. Different doctors kept giving me antibiotics. Finally a PA guessed I might have asthma and bingo: simple treatment and problem solved, not just once but over and over.