Prescrption drugs and drug tests

I am currently in the job market (I’m a full time college student, but would like a part time job over the summer and possibly longer) Any how, I notice a lot of companies have mandatory drug testing. While I don’t indulge in illegal drugs, I am currently on prescriptions for pain. I take Ultram and Zanaflex, occasionaly Xanex for anxiety. Will these show up in a urine test? Is there a form I fill out that states what drugs I currently take? If any of these show up , do I have any recourse?Thanks for any responses.

Reputable drug testing outfits ask you what prescriptions you’re on prior to you giving a sample. Many prescription drugs can give false positives for illegals, and it also depends somewhat on the testing technique.

There are tests that can identify drugs down to the brand name - but they’re expensive and not normally done for things like job screening.

When I got my last job, the screening place asked for a list of all my prescriptions. The drug test I took a few weeks ago for my new job did not. I asked the tester if he needed that, and he said (and I quote), “That’s between you and your employer.”

Although, come to think of it, my new employer administers the prescription insurance on my old health plan, so they could quite easily find out what I’m on if they wanted. I really don’t think that was the idea, though … I suspect they only planned to ask if they found some controlled substance in my urine.

It would be ludicrous of they didn’t, but apparently some don’t. Wow, that’s irresponsible of them.