Problem reattaching SQL database

I have program that uses SQL. For some reason the DB was on a USB stick.

Now we want the DB to be on the hard drive. From the DB manager I detached the database, copied the .mdf file to the HD and tried to reattach the database. However I am getting this error:

Where G:\ is the path of the USB stick.

Where is it getting the old path from? Is it written somewhere in the .mdf file?

You copied the .LDF to the same location that you copied the .MDF, right? You don’t mention that - just the .MDF - so not sure if that’s an oversight or if you didn’t actually copy both files. You need both of them, not just the .MDF.

You might want to try a SQL Server discussion forum. Here’s one and I’m sure there are others:

http://www.utteraccess.com/forum/Microsoft-SQL-Server-f32.html

I’m a DBA on Oracle and Access database so I don’t have a real clue on your problem.

Yes, I got both files, although for some bizzare reason the names are xxxx1.mdf and xxxx2.ldf

Should I rename both so they have the same name?

Renaming the file didn’t work. For some reason it tries to access the G:\xxxx_log.LDF file. THis file now resides in C:, along with the .mdf file.

I should mention that this is a virtual machine that I created from an actual machine and G: was the USB stick that originally contained the database.

Is the path for the LDF file contained in the MDF file? Where is it getting the G: path from?

Is it possible that the LDF isn’t the correct LDF file? I’m curious because you mention the name difference.

As far as I know, SQL just looks for an LDF in the same location as the MDF, with the same name. Not sure if you can change that or not, but it is odd that it’s looking at G:. Hmmmm…

Another thought: Check in your Database properties for the default location for .LDF files. Maybe that’s set to G?

Right click on the DB server name, Choose Properties, “Database Settings” tab, at least in my version of SQL.