Problem with seasoning cast iron skillets

I have had cast iron for years and have continually been trying to get them seasoned properly. If there is any stuck food I use the plastic part of a scrubbing and do the bare minimum of effort to unstick the food. I season them by heating them up and using a paper towel to put on a thin layer of crisco that melts in. I then put them in a 450 oven upside down for at least 30 minutes.

The net effect of doing this for years is a thick ring of carbon around the outside, kind of bumpy - not smooth and not sticky and a relatively unseasoned middle. HELP! I’m about ready to take my orbital sander to the pans and start over but clearly I have no clue what I’m doing.

What am I doing wrong?
How do I fix the current problem?

Hmm, I’m not an expert, but I do have a cast iron frying pan that’s nicely seasoned.

I remove any food that burns on. Even if I have to remove some seasoning. Burned-on food will ruin the surface.

When my daughter soaked the pan overnight and it rusted a little, I started over. I scrubbed down the surface really well, then I coated it with peanut oil (that’s my usual high-smoke-point cooking oil) and put it in a hot oven for a while. After it cooled, I rubbed it down with paper towels.

It still wasn’t well-seasoned, but then it was okay.

I regularly use the pan to make popcorn, which I think is really good for the surface. Recipe: put a dollop of goose fat, or a couple tablespoons of olive oil in the pan. Heat until it runs easily, then drop in two kernals of pop corn. When they pop, add 1/3 cup popcorn and cover with the soup-pot lid. Shake gently from time to time until the corn mostly stops popping. Remove from heat, pour out popcorn into a bowl with salt.

I also avoid using it for anything acid, like tomato sauce. We have stainless steel for that.