Problems with "Compress Photos" in MS Word 365. There are two versions

I have been using MS Word for 6-7 years now. I create documents of cemeteries so I have photos of tombstones, usually 10 or so per document. I use one blank document that I copy so I’ve been using the same one for years. I compress the photos when I’m done to make the document much smaller, down from 4-5 megs to under 1.

Lately though the option for compressing photos has changed, as has the way the photos look when I drag and drop them. Before when I would drag and drop the photo would just have a light outline around it, now it brings up the word wrap option. This even happens if I go in to an older document and try and drag a new photo in. I’ve see the word wrap option every so often before and was able to just delete the photo or start over, now it seems to be permanent.

Original way to compress
That’s what the option looked like before, and I can still get to that one if I open an older document.

New way to compress
This is what I get now. I can actually get both options in the same document if I open an older one and drag a new photo in. The problem with this way is that it doesn’t seem to compress the photos to make the document any smaller.

I don’t know what happened as I was just doing it the older way last week, and now it doesn’t matter what I do. Is there some sort of option I need to find, or put the photos in a different way? I’ve tired to use other ways of putting the photos in but I keep getting the same results. I’ve tried searching and all I get is how to compress photos.

I don’t recognize the panels in the screenshots. Are you dragging the files in from Windows Explorer? Or from another document? What if you use insert>photo?

Back at my desk.

The wrapping behavior is a Layout property. Right click on the photo in Word and select Size & Position > Text Wrap.