Prom, Complete with The Parents From Hell...

I’m a sophomore in high school, and my boyfriend’s a junior. He invited me to prom. My curfew on weekends is normally 11. Prom is from 8-12pm on a Saturday night. My parents want me home at 12:30-1am. I think this is unfair, considering I won’t be participating in anything illegal.

I’m a responsible kid-I’m in several extracurricular academic clubs and make above average grades. I don’t smoke or drink or do drugs and I don’t swear in front of my parents. My friends (the ones I bring home) are all good kids, terrific role models for the little ones, and I even turn down my horrible “Devil’s” music when my mom comes in the room. How late should I be able to say out? And what can I tell my parents to assure them that I won’t be doing the traditional drink-till-you’re-piss-drunk and screw thing?

Ummmm. Tell them what you would be doing I guess.

Staying out all night is overrated anyway. Why not get home at a reasonable hour and make a date to do something the next day?

Save the debauchery for your Senior Prom. You want something to look forward to!

They’re extending your usual curfew for the special occasion – what’s wrong with that? I think they were more than fair, considering that you’re only – what? 15 or 16? They’re parents, and they’re doing their job. If they were really the parents from hell, they wouldn’t let you go at all.

Enjoy the prom, and be glad you have a boyfriend to invite you to it and parents who love you enough to want you home at a decent hour.

Scarlett-thanks for the reply. Taken into consideration. :slight_smile:
The only real hellish part about it is the harrassment they give me about it.

as the parent from hell of an almost 17 year old young male about to go to his first prom, I’ll just stand over here taking notes…

erm, ** Wring **, I just hope you’re not my boyfriend’s parents. :slight_smile: