Public Speaking ( seminar)

Looking for some tips on doing a seminar. I have zero experience in public speaking, I do have a good background in what I will be talking about.

The seminar will be approx. 2 hours. I plan to spend the final 1 hour showing off examples of work we do at the various stages as well as the tools we use and some of the basic tecniques.

The audience will have no or very little knowledge of this particular subject so a big part of my job will be more of a presentation than demonstration.

I will be speaking for approx 1 hour. How much time do I spend talking about myself and my history? how much do I plug the company sponsoring this seminar?
After my introduction should I ask the group if they would like to identify themselves? I have no idea how many will show up, I suspect between 10 and 25.

The subject is making all wood bows and arrows, and I will be addressing a crowd of hobby wood workers.

Two hours is a lot of time if you are an inexperienced speaker. Most people’s attention span is much shorter than that. It is good that you will have show and tell items. Rather than save them all for the last hour, I’d encourage you to sprinkle them into the talk.

You are going to need to put a lot of thought into what will be exciting and engaging for your audience. Try to keep it light and fun. If you are comfortable with humor, work it into your talk, but don’t force it. I recommend spending no more than 30 seconds talking about yourself and your history unless you are a celebrity, or have been specifically asked to talk about yourself. I would spend zero time plugging the company unless you are obligated to do so, in which case I would keep it to a minimum.

Thanks JWT, would having a cheat sheet handy be acceptable? I feel like my main job here is to present the hobby to them in such a way as to give them some appreciation for all the possible aspects involved and how they might be attractive to them as a hobby.