Question about airline checked baggage

As everyone knows, when you check a bag, they print a label sticker and affix it to your luggage, then it goes into the stream headed for the belly of the plane.

What happens if the bag gets the label, but doesn’t go into the stream? Nothing? Or do alarms go off?

Here’s some hypothetical scenarios to illustrate the question:

As passenger A boards, they force him to check the bag at the gate. However, this passenger ignores the instruction to leave his bag on the jetway and instead takes his bag onboard and finds a spot in the overhead bin since he intended to carry-on. Does passenger A have a normal flight without problems?

Passenger B is unscrupulous and does as above, but tries to claim the bag was lost by the airline in order to scam money from them. Successful?

Note: I have no intention of scamming anyone… was just wondering about this and couldn’t find the answer online.

I’m not an expert on the total behind-the-scenes baggage process. But I do know this much …

At my carrier each bag tag is scanned as it enters the conveyor system behind the ticket counter. Gate-checked bag tags are scanned as they are picked up by the ramp crew at the jetway.

All bag tags are scanned as they go up the conveyor into the aircraft belly.

I don’t know how many scans happen where at the arrival end. But I do know the systemic goal is “cradle to grave” tracking of each item of baggage or cargo in our care.

So in your scenarios our systems would know that although the bag tag was issued, the bag was never surrendered to our people / equipment.

Believe me, if there’s an opportunity to scam, the scammers have long since already tried it. And we’ve got systems in place to attempt to thwart it.

In my experience, they usually have a stack of gate-check tags at the gate, and they don’t scan the tag before handing it to the passenger. So they have no way of knowing that a tag has been “issued” (taken) but not used.

Exactly.