Question about California tenant law

I work as an aide to a disabled elderly woman. Her apartment is badly, badly infested with cockroaches. They are so bad that when you turn on the oven, hundreds of bugs come running out!

Recently, I discovered that California law requires a landlord to keep rental units bug-free, and what you need to do is officially notify the landlord. So I wrote up a letter for my client (the disabled lady). The other tenant in the downstairs unit wrote a letter too.

So the landlady showed up today (with no 24-hour notice, but whatever) and she’s got a professional exterminator guy who is bringing – can you believe it? – bait paste and roach motels!

I mean, I’m sorry, but that isn’t gonna do squat!! What’s the point of calling a professional, and then being too cheap to select an effective option? As it’s my job to try and keep the place clean and decent, believe me, I have tried baits like that before. Two weeks ago, I cleaned out a horrific roach nest under the refrigerator. ONE week later there was a new roach nest under there, and this one had a f**kton of maggots! (Do roaches farm them or something?)

Anyway, my question: Obviously this slimy move on the landlady’s part is only going to delay any useful action. How long should we wait for the “professional treatment” to fail (and it will!) before we can credibly complain again?

This will vary somewehat depending on what county you’re in. The Department of Consumer Affairs has a page devoted to landlord/tenant issues.

Some of those bait paste products are damn good stuff. It may take a little longer but roach motels do skim off a few as well and the roaches cannot develop immunity to them.

I had a (relatively minor) roach infestation some years ago. Exterminator put a few blobs of that bait paste stuff around. It seemed to do the job. As far as I know, he didn’t do anything else as well, like spraying or nuking them from orbit.